NSF Ocean Sciences Division: Knauss Year at a Glance

Hello! My name is Lauren Howe-Kerr and I am a 2022 Knauss Fellow, placed with the National Science Foundation Division of Ocean Sciences. Below is a bit about my background and a few glimpses of my exciting year at NSF!

As a graduate student at Rice University, I spent my time studying teeny tiny organisms –bacteria, viruses, and other microbes – that live inside of corals. I particularly enjoyed was thinking how understanding these microbes helps us understand the health of a coral colony, the health of an entire reef, and the health of these ecosystems as climate change progresses. I liked the challenge of tying my research to the big picture. This is part of what motivated me to pursue a Knauss fellowship in the first place, to expand my perspective on how science can inform ocean policy at a national and international scale. 

Below: I lay a transect as part of coral reef sampling and monitoring efforts for my dissertation research in Moorea, French Polynesia.

As a Knauss Fellow at the National Science Foundation Division of Ocean Sciences, I got a 30,000 foot view of ocean policy. I enjoyed the variety of programs and initiatives I supported. Internal to NSF, I expanded my understanding of the NSF review process past the limited view I had as a graduate student applying for grants. I enjoyed learning about NSF’s innovative new programs that are moving from basic to use-inspired research, including the Coastlines and People Program and the Convergence Accelerator Networked Blue Economy track, both of which fund interdisciplinary teams to create sustainable societal solutions for our interactions with the ocean.

Much of my fellowship focused on interagency work, where I represented NSF perspectives and also supported the Subcommittee on Ocean Science and Technology (or SOST) as an executive secretary. One highlight from my SOST work was co-leading the SOST Opportunities and Actions in Ocean Science and Technology Roundtable. Over 350 representatives from the ocean science and technology community joined to discuss ideas for advancing ocean-based climate solutions, building resilient ocean infrastructure, and furthering diversity, equity, inclusion, justice, and accessibility in ocean science. There were participants from academia, industry, philanthropy, NGOs, and Indigenous communities.

I also supported the international portfolio of the NSF Ocean Policy Office. This included a couple of exciting opportunities to attend international conferences. In June, I attended the UN Ocean Conference as a part of the official U.S. Delegation. This decade- 2020 to 2030- is officially designated as the UN Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development, aimed at reversing declines in ocean health and focusing on “the science we need for the ocean we want.” The U.S. delegation had a carefully coordinated schedule to ensure that U.S. representatives were spread across as many events and meetings as possible so that we could collectively get a good grasp of the conversations taking place at the conference. I attended several events related to ocean-climate solutions and learned more about ideas and ethics surrounding ocean-based carbon dioxide removal. 

Pictured below are the 2022 Knauss fellows (from other offices and agencies) who attended the conference.

Internationally, I’ve also supported NSF’s engagement in the G7 Future of the Seas and Oceans Initiative- working with agency leadership to discuss how the G7 countries can help prioritize, coordinate, and advance work related to ocean observing, marine life, and other crucial areas to generate the data required to understand and sustainably interact with our global ocean.

Pictured below is the 2022 G7 FSOI working group meeting and the all female US delegation from NSF and State Department!

A few other highlights from the year–

A writing retreat at the Eisenhower Executive Office Building.

Representing NSF at the US Coral Reef Task Force Meeting.

Fourth of July celebration at the Portuguese embassy.

The Knauss Fellowship has been a wonderful opportunity to learn about new career paths, contribute to national ocean policy, and broaden my perspectives and experience across a variety of areas. I am grateful to Texas Sea Grant, National Sea Grant, my mentors at NSF, and so many others who I’ve gotten to work with during this incredible year!

Leave a comment